Discrimination in Workplace California Attorney Los Angeles

What are the most common forms of discrimination against California Employees?

In California, employees are protected against various forms of discrimination under state and federal laws. The four most common types of discrimination that employees may face include:

  1. Discrimination Based on Race or Ethnicity:
    • Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 prohibits employers from discriminating against employees based on their race or ethnicity. In California, the Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) also provides protection against racial and ethnic discrimination.
  2. Discrimination Based on Gender:
    • Gender discrimination involves treating employees differently based on their gender or gender identity. Both Title VII and FEHA prohibit discrimination based on gender, including issues related to pregnancy, sexual harassment, and gender identity.
  3. Discrimination Based on Age:
    • The Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA) at the federal level, and the California Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) at the state level, protect employees from discrimination based on age. This includes discrimination against both younger and older workers.
  4. Discrimination Based on Disability:
    • The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) at the federal level and the California Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) at the state level prohibit discrimination against individuals with disabilities. Employers are required to provide reasonable accommodations to qualified individuals with disabilities to enable them to perform their job duties.

It’s important to note that California’s employment laws are comprehensive, and employees are protected against discrimination on various other grounds, including but not limited to religion, national origin, sexual orientation, and military or veteran status. Additionally, retaliation against employees who assert their rights under these laws is also prohibited. Employees who believe they have been subjected to discrimination may file complaints with the appropriate state or federal agencies or pursue legal action.


Discuss Your Case! FREE Evaluation